FIERCELY INDEPENDENT art collective

JAMES's  AUTOGRAPHED  books are available at Wicked Good Books  ONLINE STORE. They ship internationally!

Follow for news on our  movie s& books

THE BRAVE

A New York Public Library Best Book of 2020 
A School Library Journal Best Book of 2020 
A Book Riot Best Book of 2020


"This lyrical tale will leave your hopes buoyed, your courage bolstered, and your heart on the lookout for magic. A stunning debut and a novel to cherish."
-- Katherine Applegate, New York Times-bestselling author of The One and Only Ivan and Wishtree

"An amazing debut full of heart, authenticity, and courage." -- School Library Journal, starred review 

"Endearingly earnest and with a refusal to shy away from the tough parts of life...this fresh and imaginative story has touches of Bridge to Terabithia and is perfect for fans of Wendy Mass’ A Mango-Shaped Space and Sherman Alexie’s The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian. Bird, himself of Ojibwe descent, has written an exceptional #OwnVoices novel not to be overlooked."-- Booklist, starred review


Perfect for fans of Rain Reign, this middle-grade novel The Brave is about a boy with an OCD issue and his move to a reservation to live with his biological mother.

Collin can't help himself—he has a unique condition that finds him counting every letter spoken to him. It's a quirk that makes him a prime target for bullies, and a continual frustration to the adults around him, including his father. 

When Collin asked to leave yet another school, his dad decides to send him to live in Minnesota with the mother he's never met. She is Ojibwe, and lives on a reservation. Collin arrives in Duluth with his loyal dog, Seven, and quickly finds his mom and his new home to be warm, welcoming, and accepting of his condition. 

Collin’s quirk is matched by that of his neighbor, Orenda, girl who lives mostly in her treehouse and believes she is turning into a butterfly. With Orenda’s help, Collin works hard to overcome his challenges. His real test comes when he must step up for his new friend and trust his new family.


You can purchase and autographed copy of the BRAVE from James's local book store Wicked Good Books here


Amazon

Barnes & Noble

IndieBound

Books-A-Million